BC Celebrates Outstanding Renegades During Closing Week 2020

sonya christian

Thursday, May 14, 2020

This year, Bakersfield College wrapped up the Spring 2020 semester with a whole Closing Week of videos celebrating our talented students, faculty and staff. On the first day, attendees heard a farewell address from 2019-20 BCSGA President Samantha Pulido and welcoming addresses from incoming President Gian Gayatao and Emma McNellis. The second day featured messages from Tina Johnson and Ann Tatum representing the classified and faculty union leadership, Academic Senate President Stephen Holmes, and Management Association President Manny Mourtzanos. Day three focused on the recognition of faculty retirees and tenure, and we closed our last day closed our ceremonies out with our faculty award recipients.

Throughout Closing Week, BC President Sonya Christian gave out her Leadership and Lifetime Achievement Awards to members of the Renegade family who exemplified our values during this time of crisis. Thank you to everyone on the planning team who helped put together this year's Closing Week.

Closing Week 2020 Award-Winners

  • President's Leadership Awards: Academic Technology, Information Technology, the Public Safety Pathway, the Nursing Department, Carlos Barbaran, Student Affairs, Budget Committee, COVID-19 Response Team, Jennifer Johnson, Todd Coston, Paul Beckworth (announced in Fall 2019)
  • President's Lifetime Achievement Awards: Sandi Taylor, Corny Rodriguez
  • Norm Levan Faculty Colloquium: Paula Parks, Faith Bradham
  • Levan Summer Grants: Chris Doyen, Gina Herera, Javier Llamas, Josh Ottum, Kris Tiner
  • Margaret Levinson Faculty Leadership Award: Gayle Richardson, Phil Feldman
  • Shirley Trembley Distinguished Teaching Award: Arnie Andrasian