Bakersfield College

Female student tutoring another female student

Tutoring

The BC Tutoring Center team welcomes you to our homepage. Please be patient with us as we are still receiving tutor schedules. We will contact you with appointment information as soon as we are able to. Tutors are available to assist in many BC courses. Tutors are available in person and/or online. Please submit a "Request Tutoring" form using the second tab below for assistance. The form is open so you can secure a request for help in your course. Please be aware that appointments cannot be made until each tutor's schedule is finalized. This can take anywhere from one to three weeks. We look forward to hearing from you!

Welcome to the Tutoring Center!

We are a proven student success service that provides FREE tutoring both online and in-person to all currently enrolled Bakersfield College Students. Our one-on-one peer tutors, who are trained in a CRLA-certified course, can assist you with many Bakersfield College courses. Assistance with course content, assignments, required papers (at any stage of the writing process), and/or academic skills are available through drop-in and scheduled appointments for most BC courses.

The Tutoring Center peer tutors, staff, and faculty look forward to meeting you and making your online or in-person appointment(s) an easy and rewarding experience.

Tutoring Center Hours

Day Hours
Monday 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Friday 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Contact

Tutoring Center Staff
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Sonia Avila Tutorial Coordinator soavila@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 541-1530
120
Bradley Cramer Tutoring Services Team Leader bradley.cramer@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4430
CSS 203
Monica Huyck Tutoring Services Team Leader monica.huyck@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 720-2076
DST 1101
Grace Torres Tutoring Services Team Leader grace.torres@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4749
CSS 203
Faculty
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Mary Michelle Hart Professor, Education; Tutor Trainer michelle.hart@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 720-2060
DST 1101, DST 1008
Susan Pinza Professor, Education; Tutoring Center Faculty Coordinator; Tutor Trainer spinza@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4464
(661) 395-4749
CSS 123, CSS 203
Adjunct Faculty
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Pamela Fox-Peterson Adjunct Faculty, Education; Tutor Trainer pamela.fox@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4009
BCSW 14, CSS 135

Become a Tutor!

Certified Training for Peer Tutors

All peer tutors complete a semester long certified tutor training course. The EDUC B7A Tutor Training and Practicum Level 1 course has been recognized with an International Tutor Training Program Certification (ITTPC) through the College Reading & Learning Association (CRLA). Interested in becoming a tutor? If you are a current BC student, you may be eligible to tutor if you have earned at least a "B" in a specific course and have been recommended by a professor. For more information, contact Tutoring Center staff.

Benefits of becoming a Peer Tutor

Working as a peer tutor provides personal and academic growth, school involvement, exposure to a professional work environment, an opportunity to make new friends, and learning the ins and outs of tutoring as a job. Most importantly, peer tutors support BC students in achieving academic success!