Bakersfield College

EOPS/CARE graduation medallions

Extended Opportunities Programs & Services (EOP&S)

About Our Programs

The Extended Opportunity Programs and Services (EOP&S) Office, located on the second floor of the Center for Student Success building (CSS) on BC's main campus, offers several programs that provide additional assistance for Bakersfield College students to succeed in college. For more information about any of our programs, email us at eops@bakersfieldcollege.edu

EOP&S

Extended Opportunity Programs and Services (EOP&S) is a state funded program that serves educationally and financially disadvantaged students. EOP&S provides services that assist students who have the potential to succeed in college. 

Interested in EOP&S? Please check the EOP&S Eligibility Requirements.

CARE

The Cooperative Agencies Resources for Education (CARE) Program promotes  students' success by offering specialized services to EOPS students who are single parents receiving public assistance (CalWORKs/TANF).

Interested in CARE? Please check the CARE Eligibility Requirements.

CalWORKs

CalWORKs (California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Children) is California's Welfare plan in response to Federal TANF (Temporary Aid to Needy Families) Program.

Interested in CalWORKs? Please check the CalWORKs Eligibility Requirements.


Our Staff

Name Position Email Phone Location
Imelda Simos-Valdez Director, EOPS/CARE/CalWORKs/Cal-SOAP imelda.valdez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4351
CSS 182
Maria Baltazar Program Manager, Southern San Joaquin Valley Cal-SOAP maria.baltazar@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4955
Patricia Ramirez Program Manager, EOP&S/CARE/CalWORKs patricia.ramirez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4238
CSS 195
Diane Dodson Department Assistant III diane.dodson@kccd.edu (661) 395-4451
Ashlie Lopez Department Assistant II ashlie.lopez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4348
CSS Second Floor
Educational Advisors
Name Position Email Phone Location
Chase Amos Educational Advisor, EOP&S/Next Up chase.amos@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4952
CSS 193
Marcela Gamino Educational Advisor, CARE/EOP&S marcela.gamino@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4351
CSS 194
Pedro Ramirez Educational Advisor, EOPS pedro.ramirez1@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4364
A 8
Counselors
Name Position Email Phone Location
Vanessa Bell Counselor, EOP&S/CARE vanessa.bell@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4920
CSS 181
Manuel Rosas Counselor, EOP&S mrosas@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4719
CSS 180
Jeff Stambook Counselor, EOP&S jeffrey.stambook@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4323
CSS 179
Angelica Vasquez Counselor, EOP&S/CalWORKS angelica.vasquez1@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4593
CSS 181

Our Photo Gallery