Bakersfield College

EOPS/CARE graduation medallions

Extended Opportunity Programs & Services (EOPS)

About Our Programs

The Extended Opportunity Programs and Services (EOPS) Office, located on the second floor of the Center for Student Success building (CSS) on BC's main campus, offers several programs that provide additional assistance for Bakersfield College students to succeed in college. For more information about any of our programs, email us at eops@bakersfieldcollege.edu

EOPS

Extended Opportunity Programs and Services (EOPS) is a state funded program that serves educationally and financially disadvantaged students. EOPS provides services that assist students who have the potential to succeed in college. 

Interested in EOPS? Please check the EOPS Eligibility Requirements.

CARE

The Cooperative Agencies Resources for Education (CARE) Program promotes  students' success by offering specialized services to EOPS students who are single parents receiving public assistance (CalWORKs/TANF).

Interested in CARE? Please check the CARE Eligibility Requirements.

CalWORKs

CalWORKs (California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Children) is California's Welfare plan in response to Federal TANF (Temporary Aid to Needy Families) Program.

Interested in CalWORKs? Please check the CalWORKs Eligibility Requirements.

NextUp

BC is currently recruiting former and current foster youth to apply to our BC NextUp program. You must be former or current foster youth after your 16th birthday and enrolled in 9 units at BC. If eligible, services include book voucher, counseling services, priority registration, meal vouchers, transportation assistance, and more.

To sign up for an appointment with NextUp or find out more information about resources, grants, and emergency housing assistance, contact Chase Amos, the Educational Advisor for NextUp, via our EOPS virtual lobby. If you do not have internet or webcam access, you may contact Chase Amos at 661-395-4952, or chase.amos@bakersfieldcollege.edu. For proof of dependency, contact the California Foster Care Ombudsperson’s office at 1-877-846-1602.


Our Staff

Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Imelda Simos-Valdez Executive Director, Categorical Programs imelda.valdez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4351
CSS 182
Maria Baltazar Program Director, Categorical Programs maria.baltazar@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4955
Marcela Gamino Program Manager, AB 540/USP marcela.gamino@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4351
CSS 194
Patricia Ramirez Program Manager, EOPS/CARE/CalWORKs patricia.ramirez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4238
CSS 195
Ashlie Lopez Department Technician ashlie.lopez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4348
CSS Second Floor
Alejandra Lopez Beltran Department Assistant III alejandra.lopezbeltran@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4351
CSS Second Floor
Maria Rojas Department Assistant III, EOPS/NextUp/CalWORKs/SSJV Cal-SOAP maria.rojas@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4957
CSS Second Floor Reception Area
Educational Advisors
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Chase Amos Educational Advisor, EOPS/Next Up chase.amos@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4952
CSS 193
Rafael Centeno Educational Advisor, EOPS/AB540/USP rafael.centeno@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-3591
CS 195
Amani Hernandez Educational Advisor, EOPS/CARE/CalWORKs aman.alshaif@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4830
CSS Second Floor
Counselors
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Vanessa Bell Counselor, EOPS/CARE vanessa.bell@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4920
CSS 181
Manuel Rosas Counselor, EOPS mrosas@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4719
CSS 180
Jeff Stambook Counselor, EOPS jeffrey.stambook@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4323
CSS 179
Angelica Vasquez Counselor, EOPS/CalWORKS angelica.vasquez1@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4593
CSS 181
Adjunct Counselors
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Rene Deniz Adjunct Faculty, Counselor, EOPS rene.deniz@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4228
CSS
Thi Nguyen Adjunct Faculty, Counselor, EOPS thi.nguyen@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4995
CSS
Elias Purmul Adjunct Faculty, Counselor, EOPS elias.purmul@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4867
CSS
Pedro Ramirez Adjunct Faculty, Counselor, EOPS pedro.ramirez1@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4364
A 8

Our Photo Gallery