Bakersfield College

Student Success and Equity

Welcome to the Office of Student Success and Equity!

The goal of Student Success & Equity (SS&E) is to increase student success at Bakersfield College by coordinating campus-wide efforts to develop effective onboarding and support mechanisms along students’ pathways toward their educational goals.  Through two state funded grant programs, SS&E provides resources to ensure BC offers effective and widely-accessible matriculation services that will improve entering students’ transition into college.  These core matriculation services include:

Further, SS&E is committed to addressing disparities in access in success among students.  Check out our African American Initiatives, Campus Resources, and L.U.P.E program to learn more.


Javier LopezWasco resident and BC-Delano campus student Javier Lopez on participating in BC’s first rural Summer Bridge program: “It was my first exposure to the campus and it gave me a lot of background knowledge about school resources which, in turn, made me feel more comfortable...If you see anyone struggling, give a hand and accept any help because it will benefit you in the long run.”


SS&E Team

Name Title Email
Lesley Bonds Director, Student Success & Equity lesley.bonds@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Keri Kennedy

Counselor, Student Success

Multiple Measures

Renegade Promise Completion Coach

keri.kennedy@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Lisa Kent Program Manager, Equity lkent@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Pedro Ramirez

Educational Advisor, Student Success

DREAMers and L.U.P.E.

pedro.ramirez1@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Shauna Turner Department Assistant III, Student Success and Equity shauna.turner@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Shanell Tyus Program Manager, Student Success shanell.tyus@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Julian West

Educational Advisor, Equity

African American Initiatives

African American Mentor Program

julian.west@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Kristina Whitmore Department Assistant, Student Success kristina.whitmore@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Karla Young Program Manager, Student Success karla.young@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Kern Community College District