Bakersfield College

Bakersfield College Administration Building

History

Faculty

Name Office Phone Email
Paul Beckworth H 10 395-4028 pbeckwor@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Steve Bsharah adjunct 395-4404 sbsharah@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Olivia Garcia H 10 / DST 1114 395-4010 oligarci@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Matthew Garrett H 10 395-4267 matgarre@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Rosa Garza H 38 395-4456 rogarza@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Kelly Gerhold adjunct 395-4404 kelly.gerhold@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Craig Holliday adjunct 395-4404 craig.holliday@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Daymon Johnson H 39 395-4350 dayjohns@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Ishmael Kimbrough H 37 395-4524 ikimbrou@bakersfieldcollege.edu
F. Javier Llamas adjunct 395-4404 francisco.llamas@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Matthew McCoy adjunct 395-4404 matthew.mccoy@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Tina Mendoza adjunct 395-4404 tina.mendoza@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Erin Miller H 39 395-4350 emiller@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Shawn Newsom adjunct 395-4404 shawn.newsom@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Christian Parker H 32 395-4717 chparker@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Oliver Rosales H 8 / DST 1114 395-4033 orosales@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Richard Roux adjunct 395-4404 richard.roux@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Jason Stratton FACE 15A 395-4071 jstratto@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Christopher Tincher adjunct 395-4404 christopher.tincher@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Robert Torres FA 72 395-4218 robtorre@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Ann Wiederrecht H 17 395-4692 awiederr@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Jamal Wright adjunct 395-4404 jamal.wright@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Gail Young adjunct 395-4404 gyoung@bakersfieldcollege.edu

Classes

Number Course Title Catalog Description
HIST B1 World History: To Englightenment Interdisciplinary approach to the development of our interconnected and interdependent modern world from the origins of 'civilization' to the beginnings of the modern era. Emphasis is on comparative history, world systems, cultural diffusion, and ecologies of core/periphery associations.
HIST B15 History of the Middle East  
HIST B17A History of the United States to 1877 Survey of the political, economic and cultural history of the United States from earliest colonial times to 1877. Includes a study of the U.S. Constitution and Federal Government.
HIST B17B History of the United States from 1877 Survey of the political, economic and cultural history of the United States from 1877 to the present. HIST B17A is not a prerequisite for HIST B17B.
HIST 18A History of Early California The political, economic, social and cultural development of California from earliest times to 1870. Includes the Spanish, Mexican, and Early American periods.
HIST 18B Modern California Historical environment of modern California. Emphasizes the political, economic, social and cultural development.
HIST B2 World History: Post Renaissance Interdisciplinary approach to the development of our interconnected and interdependent modern world since the 16th Century. Emphasis is on comparative history, world systems, modernization theory, cultural diffusion, and ecologies of core/periphery associations.
HIST B20A African American History of the United States to 1865 Survey of the political, economic, and cultural history of the United States from earliest colonial times to reconstruction with emphasis on the role and contributions of African Americans. Includes a study of the U.S. Constitution and federal government.
HIST B20B African American History of the United States from 1865 Survey of the political, economic, and cultural history of the United States from reconstruction to the present with emphasis on the role and contributions of African Americans. Includes a study of the state and local government of California.
HIST B25 Introduction to Women in American History Survey of the history of women in America from 1620 to 1890. Emphasis on the social, regional, and multicultural distinctions in the role of American women. Includes women's relationships with California's state and local governments.
HIST B30A Early Chicano History Survey of the history of the Mexican-American borderlands, from Pre-Columbian times until 1848. Includes the social economic, and political evolution of the region with emphasis on the interrelationships between the histories of the United States and Mexico.
HIST B30B History of Chicanos in the Southwest Survey of the Chicanos and the United States with an emphasis on the development of California and the Southwest from 1848 to the present. Examines the aftermath of the U.S.-Mexican War, 1846-1848; the inter-relationship of Mexican and U.S. history between 1860 and 1910; the effects of the Mexican Revolution of 1910 on the 20th Century experience of Chicanos in the U.S.; and the California State Constitution.
HIST B33 Latin American History Historical survey of the social, economic and political development of Latin America, including the formation of pre-Columbian civilizations through establishment of the Spanish and Portuguese colonial systems to nation building of the modern era. Examines the impact of the United States foreign policy on the development of Latin America
HIST B36 History of Native American Indians Survey of the origins, traditions, lifeway and belief systems of the various Native Americans. Emphasis on the encounter with Anglo American expansion and on the impact of the governmental policies on this indigenous people. Partially satisfies the requirements in U.S. Constitution, American history and institutions
HIST B4A European Civilization Survey of the growth of western civilization from its origin to 1650. Focuses on the integration of political, social, and cultural developments.
HIST B4B European Civilization Survey of the growth of western civilization from 1650 to present. Focuses on the integration of political, social, and cultural developments
Kern Community College District