About the Forms
California Nonresident Tuition Exemption
Any student, other than one with United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) nonimmigrant visa status (see exception below for students who have been granted T or U visa status), who meets all of the following requirements, shall be exempt from paying nonresident tuition at the California Community Colleges, the University of California, and the California State University (all public colleges and universities in California).
- A student is exempt from paying nonresident tuition if the student meets all of the following four requirements:
- The student must have:
The student must have:
- attended a combination of California high school, adult school, and California Community College for the equivalent of three years or more, or
- attained credits earned in California from a California high school equivalent to three or more years of full-time high school course work and attended a combination of elementary, middle and/or high schools in California for a total of three or more years, and
The student must register as an entering student at, or current enrollment at, an accredited institution of higher education in California, and
The student must file an affidavit with the college or university stating that if the student is a non-citizen without current or valid immigration status, the student has filed an application to legalize immigration status, or will file an application as soon as the student is eligible to do so.
Students who are nonimmigrants who are victims of trafficking, domestic violence, and other serious crimes who have been granted T or U visa status, under Title 8 of the United States Code, sections 1101(a)(15)(T) or (U) are eligible for this exemption.
Students who are nonimmigrants, other than those with T or U visa status as noted above, [for example, those who hold F (student) visas, B (visitor) visas, etc.] are not eligible for this exemption.
A year’s equivalence at a California Community College is a minimum of 24 semester units of credit or 36 quarter units of credit. For noncredit courses, a year’s attendance is a minimum of 420 hours, 210 hours for a semester, and 140 hours a quarter.
The accumulation of credit and/or non-credit in any academic year shall be calculated in reference to a year’s equivalence. Partial completion in an academic year is allowed. (Example: 12 units of credit courses in an academic year is equal to a semester for purposes of determining eligibility.)
Attendance in credit courses at a California Community College towards the attendance requirements shall not exceed two years of full-time attendance.
The student must file an exemption request including a signed affidavit with the college that indicates the student has met all applicable conditions described above. Student information obtained in this process is strictly confidential unless disclosure is required under law.
Students eligible for this exemption who are transferring to another California public college or university must submit a new request (and documentation if required) to each college under consideration.
Nonresident students meeting the criteria will be exempted from the payment of nonresident tuition, but they will not be classified as California residents. They continue to be“nonresidents”.
• The California Dream Act extends Cal Grant A and B Entitlement awards, Cal Grant C awards, the California Promise Grant (formerly known as the BOG fee waiver), Chaffee grants, and institutional financial aid to students that meet these criteria as well as the applicable criteria for eligibility for specific types of financial aid.
AB540 does not provide federal student financial aid eligibility for undocumented students. These students remain ineligible for federal financial aid..
- graduated from a California high school or attained the equivalent prior to the start of the term (for example, passing the GED or California High School Proficiency exam), or
- completed an associate degree from a California Community College, or
- completed the minimum requirements at a California Community College for transfer to the California State University or the University of California, and
Back to Top
Academic Renewal Request
A maximum of 20 units of substandard academic grades (D, F, and NC) taken at Bakersfield College which are not reflective of a student’s present demonstrated ability may be disregarded in the computation of the Grade Point Average if all of the following conditions exist:
- At least two years have elapsed since the course work to be disregarded was recorded.
- At least 18 units of satisfactory course work (2.5 GPA) have been completed subsequent to the course work to be alleviated.
- The student petitions in writing stating the reasons for requesting academic renewal.
- The student states in the petition the specific courses to be considered under the academic renewal policy.
- Reason statement is required below and will not be processed unless completed.
If approved, the substandard work will be disregarded in the computation of the Grade Point Average and an annotation made on the permanent record. The permanent academic record shall remain a true and complete academic history and the course work disregarded under this policy will remain on the permanent record.
Academic renewal may not be used to raise the GPA in order to qualify for graduation with honors. Academic renewal may not be applied to courses which have been used to meet graduation, certificate, and certification requirements, or classes that have been repeated.
The Academic Renewal petition is available in person at the Office of Admissions and Records, the Counseling Office on the main campus, and the Delano Center. Download the petition for Academic Renewal and faxed to 661-395-4500.
Please allow 6-8 weeks for review. For results, view your unofficial transcripts.
Back to Top
Course Repetition Petition
When students earn substandard grades in individual courses they may petition to have the higher grade earned by repeating the course replace the lower grade in their GPA calculation. Courses may be repeated once for credit if a grade of “D”, “F”, “NP”, or “NC” has been earned. The original and subsequent grades will remain a part of the student’s permanent record.
The college can provide no assurance that repeated courses will be treated in a similar manner by other educational institutions.
The Repeat Petition is available in person at Window #6 in the Office of Admissions and Records, in the Counseling Office on the main campus, and at the Delano center. Download forms for course repetition and fax to 661-395-4500.
To Request to Repeat a Completed Course With a Grade of D, F, NP, or NC:
- Fill out form only after “repeat” course is completed
- Include the course name, number, and term information for the course that you wish to have replaced.
- Fax the completed form to 661-395-4500 or mail to:
Admissions & Records Office
1801 Panorama Drive
Bakersfield, CA 93305
Completion of forms takes approximately two weeks to process.
You will not receive a notice of change. You may verify the change by accessing your on-line transcript.
If you wish to request a repeat of a completed course with a grade of A, B, C, P, or CR, go to Admissions and Records, Window#6.