Bakersfield College

Office of Institutional Effectiveness Header

Office of Institutional Effectiveness

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness at Bakersfield College (BC) supports the college's mission and commitment to academic learning and student success by providing quality, accessible, and relevant information to facilitate decision-making and planning processes that provides the basis for data-driven decisions to improve student learning and institutional effectiveness.


What We Do

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness strives to meet the needs of the Bakersfield College community by conducting research, providing reports and institutional data related to:

  • Institutional Effectiveness
  • Accreditation
  • College Initiatives (SSSP/Student Equity/Strong Workforce)
  • Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment
  • Annual Unit Planning
  • Program Review
  • Education Master Planning 
  • Matriculation and Enrollment Strategies
  • Grant and Funding Reports 

OIE Staff
Name Position Email Phone Location
Craig Hayward, Ph.D. Dean, Institutional Effectiveness craig.hayward@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4948
A 17E
Amber Hroch, Ph.D. College Institutional Researcher, Office of Institutional Effectiveness amber.hroch@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4988
A 17
Karen Snow Research Analyst, Office of Institutional Effectiveness karen.snow@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4668
A 17
David Buitron Research Analyst david.buitron@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4390
A 17
Alma Livingston Research Analyst alma.livingston@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4993
A 17
Lori Ortiz Executive Secretary, Office of Institutional Effectiveness lori.ortiz@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4662
A 17

Do you have a specific research need? Use the button below to submit a request to the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.

Research Request Form

Kern Community College District