Bakersfield College

BC Office of Institutional Effectiveness Team

Office of Institutional Effectiveness

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness at Bakersfield College (BC) supports the college's mission and commitment to academic learning and student success by providing quality, accessible, and relevant information to facilitate decision-making and planning processes that provides the basis for data-driven decisions to improve student learning and institutional effectiveness.


What We Do

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness strives to meet the needs of the Bakersfield College community by conducting research, providing reports and institutional data related to:

  • Institutional Effectiveness
  • Accreditation
  • College Initiatives (SSSP/Student Equity/Strong Workforce)
  • Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment
  • Annual Unit Planning
  • Program Review
  • Education Master Planning
  • Matriculation and Enrollment Strategies
  • Grant and Funding Reports 

OIE Affiliates
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Nicole Avina Program Manager, Student Success Technology nicole.avina@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4600
CSS 25
Daniel Hall Director, Student Success Technology daniel.hall@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4564
CSS 24
Office of Institutional Effectiveness (OIE)
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Robert Dean Institutional Research Analyst robert.dean@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4390
AS 151
Laura Gage Department Assistant III laura.gage@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4400
AS 151
Craig Hayward Dean, Institutional Effectiveness craig.hayward@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4948
AS 153
Sooyeon Kim Director of Institutional Research sooyeon.kim@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4988
AS 152
Melissa Myers Institutional Research Analyst melissa.myers@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-3514
AS 151
Patsy Garcia Institutional Research Analyst patsy.garcia@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4668
AS 151
Lori Ortiz Executive Secretary, Office of Institutional Effectiveness lori.ortiz@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4662
AS 151

Do you have a specific research need? Use the button below to submit a request to the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.

Research Request Form