VACCINATION REQUIREMENT: To preserve the health and safety of all students, employees, and the public, everyone on campus must wear a mask and show proof of COVID 19 Vaccination as of 11/01/2021.
COVID-19 Information »

Bakersfield College

BC Office of Institutional Effectiveness Team

Office of Institutional Effectiveness

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness at Bakersfield College (BC) supports the college's mission and commitment to academic learning and student success by providing quality, accessible, and relevant information to facilitate decision-making and planning processes that provides the basis for data-driven decisions to improve student learning and institutional effectiveness.


What We Do

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness strives to meet the needs of the Bakersfield College community by conducting research, providing reports and institutional data related to:

  • Institutional Effectiveness
  • Accreditation
  • College Initiatives (SSSP/Student Equity/Strong Workforce)
  • Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment
  • Annual Unit Planning
  • Program Review
  • Education Master Planning
  • Matriculation and Enrollment Strategies
  • Grant and Funding Reports 

OIE Affiliates
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Nicole Avina Program Manager, Student Success Technology nicole.avina@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4600
CSS 25
Daniel Hall Director, Student Success Technology daniel.hall@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4564
CSS 24
Erica Menchaca Curator, Program Pathways Mapper erica.menchaca@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4005
CSS 119
OIE Staff
Name Position Email Voice Phone Location
Robert Dean Institutional Research Analyst robby.dean@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4390
LEV 4
Craig Hayward Dean, Institutional Effectiveness craig.hayward@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4948
LEV 16
Sooyeon Kim Director of Institutional Research sooyeon.kim@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4988
LEV 5
Melissa Myers Institutional Research Analyst melissa.myers@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-3514
Lev 16
Patsy Garcia Institutional Research Analyst patsy.garcia@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4668
LEV 4
Lori Ortiz Executive Secretary, Office of Institutional Effectiveness lori.ortiz@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4662
LEV 3

Do you have a specific research need? Use the button below to submit a request to the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.

Research Request Form