Bakersfield College

Maintenance and Operations Building

Maintenance & Operations

About M&O

Maintenance and Operations is a building and facilities service provider, which is dedicated to excellence in customer service. We support our institutional mission by providing Bakersfield College with a safe, secure, pleasant and accessible environment, an environment that supports our college in achieving excellence in teaching and learning and we do that with pride, integrity, and respect.

Vision Statement

We strive to be an effective, customer service oriented department that is respected by Bakersfield College and the Bakersfield community.

Goals

Within a framework of safety, quality service, environmental sensitivity and operational efficiency the Department of Facilities and Operations will:

  • Train and develop staff to discharge the duties of the department in a professional manner. This will be accomplished in a work environment that is safe, challenging, responsive and rewarding.
  • Expand, execute and manage comprehensive preventative maintenance programs which protect the college’s financial investment in its physical plant.
  • Listen and respond to our customers needs.
  • Perform day to day cleaning, maintenance, repair and upgrading of the existing physical plant in a manner which strives to meet the expectations of the students, faculty and staff.
  • Control costs rigorously through the professional management of departmental resources and the introduction of new technologies and methods.
  • Develop, promote, implement and maintain an effective energy management program.
  • Provide consultation and information regarding facilities and maintenance matters to other support units and the general college community.
  • Comply with the letter and intent of all applicable statutory, code, health and safety regulations.

Staff

Management
Name Position Email Phone Location
William "Bill" Potter Director, Maintenance and Operations william.potter@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4478
LEV 39
Jim Coggins Manager of Maintenance & Operations jcoggins@kccd.edu (661) 395-4501
Ramon Puga Supervisor, Custodial Services ramon.puga@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4548
LEV 3
Rachell Morehouse Evening Supervisor, Custodial Services rmorehou@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4870
M&O Staff
Name Position Email Phone Location
Steve Adams Shipping and Receiving Clerk sadams@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4279
M&O 116
Olegario "Leo" Avalos Mailroom Coordinator oavalos@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4411
SR 1
Steve Barrett Grounds Equipment Mechanic steven.barrett@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4221
Mitchell Barter Painter mitchell.barter@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4818
LEV 39
Wilie Castro Custodial and Grounds (661) 395-4497
Bill Garrett Plant Engineer bgarrett@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4254
LEV 39
Timothy Hernandez Skilled Craftsman timothy.hernandez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4221
Aaron Kidwell MO Tech, Pool aaron.kidwell@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4221
LEV 39
David Landon Webb Plumber, Maintenance and Operations david.webb@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4798
Antero Medina Grounds Worker I antero.medina@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4221
LEV 39
Martin Ramirez Electrician martin.ramirez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4818
LEV 39
Frank Tinoco HVAC Technician ftinoco@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4221
Office Staff
Name Position Email Phone Location
Dalia Garcia Department Assistant III dalia.garcia@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4852
Kern Community College District