Bakersfield College

Library shelf full of books

Library Research Skills Workshop Schedule

Spring 2019

Calendar view of the workshop schedule.

Students should line up outside L217 before the workshops.

Friday, Saturday, and late afternoon workshops are popular, so be early!

PLEASE NOTE: ARRIVE VERY EARLY FOR WORKSHOPS THE LAST TWO WEEKS.  WORKSHOPS MAY BEGIN BEFORE
THE 
SCHEDULED START TIME IF THEY ARE FULL!!


Week 1: February 4-8

Date Time Title Location
Mon Feb 4 11:30 am Strategies for Effective Research L217
Tues Feb 5 1:30 pm Finding Books and E-books L217
Wed Feb 6 3:00 pm Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217
Thur Feb 7 9:00 am Detecting Fake News L217

Week 2: February 11-15

Date Time Title Location
Mon Feb 11 2:00 pm Evaluating Internet Sources L217
Wed Feb 13 9:00 am Finding Articles in Periodicals Databases L217
Wed Feb 13 2:30 pm Using Google for Internet Searching L217
Thur Feb 14 10:00 am Strategies for Effective Research L217

Week 3: February 18-22

Date Time Title Location
Tues Feb 19 12:00 pm Strategies for Effective Research L217
Wed Feb 20 1:00 pm Finding Books and E-books L217
Thur Feb 21 10:30 am Avoiding Plagiarism L217
Thur Feb 21 2:00 pm Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217

Week 4: February 25-March 1

Date Time Title Location
Mon Feb 25 2:00 pm Detecting Fake News L217
Wed Feb 27 3:00 pm Strategies for Effective Research L217
Thur Feb 28 1:00 pm Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217
Fri Mar 1 8:00 am Using Google for Internet Searching L217

Week 5: March 4-8

Date Time Title Location
Mon Mar 4 8:00 am Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217
Tues Mar 5 11:00 am Strategies for Effective Research L217
Wed Mar 6 2:30 pm Evaluating Internet Sources L217
Thur Mar 7 8:30 am Finding Books and E-books L217

Week 6: March 11-15

Date Time Title Location
Mon Mar 11 2:30 pm Finding Books and E-books L217
Wed Mar 13 1:30 pm Evaluating Books and Articles L217
Thur Mar 14 11:00 am Using Google for Internet Searching L217
Fri Mar 15 9:00 am Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217

Week 7: March 18-23

Date Time Title Location
Wed Mar 20 2:30 pm Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217
Fri Mar 22 9:00 am Avoiding Plagiarism L217
Sat Mar 23 11:15 am Strategies for Effective Research L217
Sat Mar 23 12:30 pm Detecting Fake News L217

Week 8: March 25-30

Date Time Title Location
Mon Mar 25 3:00 pm Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217
Thur Mar 28 2:00 pm Strategies for Effective Research L217
Sat Mar 30 11:15 am Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217
Sat Mar 30 12:30 pm Finding Books and E-books L217

Week 9: April 1-6

Date Time Title Location
Tues Apr 2 10:30 am Finding Articles in Periodical Databases L217
Fri Apr 5 10:00 am Detecting Fake News L217
Sat Apr 6 11:15 am Using Google for Internet Searching L217
Sat Apr 6 12:30 pm Evaluating Internet Sources L217

Week 10: April 22-25

BE EARLY FOR WORKSHOPS THIS WEEK! THEY FILL QUICKLY AND OFTEN BEGIN BEFORE THE SCHEDULED TIME IF FULL!

Date Time Title Location
Mon Apr 22 1:30 pm Using Google for Internet Searching L217
Tues Apr 23 10:00 am Evaluating Internet Sources L217
Wed Apr 24 3:00 pm Avoiding Plagiarism L217
Thur Apr 25 8:00 am Evaluating Books and Articles L217

 

**DELANO CAMPUS LIBRARY WORKSHOPS

Delano Week 1: April 8-11

Date Time Title Location
Mon Apr 8 1:00 pm Using Google for Internet Searching Delano 1102
Mon Apr 8 4:50 pm Avoiding Plagiarism Delano 1102
Tues Apr 9 10:00 am Detecting Fake News Delano 1102
Wed Apr 10 10:00 am Evaluating Internet Sources Delano 1102
Wed Apr 10 4:50 pm Finding Articles in Periodical Databases Delano 1102
Thur Apr 11 10:00 am Strategies for Effective Research Delano 1102
Thur Apr 11 4:50 pm Finding Books and E-books Delano 1102

Delano Week 2: April 22-25

Date Time Title Location
Mon Apr 22 1:00 pm Detecting Fake News Delano 1102
Mon Apr 22 3:30 pm Finding Books and E-books Delano 1102
Tues Apr 23 3:30 pm Evaluating Internet Sources Delano 1102
Wed Apr 24 1:00 pm Strategies for Effective Research  Delano 1102
Wed Apr 24 3:30 pm Avoiding Plagiarism Delano 1102
Thur Apr 25 1:00 pm Using Google for Internet Searching Delano 1102
Thur Apr 25 3:30 pm Finding Articles in Periodical Databases Delano 1102
Kern Community College District