Bakersfield College

students in BC's Career and Technical Education program

Career & Technical Education

What is Career and Technical Education?

Career and Technical Education prepares students for a wide range of high-wage, high skill, high-demand careers. CTE is at the forefront of preparing students to succeed in fast-growing, high-growth industries around the country. According to the California Community Colleges Task Force on Workforce Job Creation and a Strong Economy, the labor market is increasingly demanding a more skilled workforce and by 2020 65% of all job openings in the U.S. will require some postsecondary education or training - though not necessarily a four year degree.

It is our mission to provide educational leadership in developing a competitive workforce. For more information on the different Career and Technical Education programs that Bakersfield College has to offer visit the Career Pathways webpage.

 

Staff

Name Email Phone
Cindy Collier
Dean of Instruction-CTE
ccollier@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4283
Anthony Cordova
Program Director - CTE
anthony.cordova@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4787
Stephanie Baltazar
Interim CTE Program Manager
stephanie.baltazar@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4091
Antonio Alfaro
Interim Dual Enrollment Program Manager
analfaro@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4023
Name Email Phone

Vacant
Educational Advisor
Ag Mechanics, IT Networking, Business, Construction/Woodworking
Electronics, Industrial Automation, Engineering Technology, Welding
Manufacturing Technology

   
Venessa Reyes
Educational Advisor (located in MS 178)
Pre-Nursing, Registered Nursing, Vocational Nurse, Nurse Assistant,
Rad Tech, Public Health Sciences, Health Information Techology
venessa.reyes@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4476

Pamela Gomez
Educational Advisor
Agriculture Business, Ag Mechanics, Animal Science,
Animal Science, Crop Science, Environmental Hort, Vet. Tech. Forestry
Plant Science, Culinary Arts, Human Services

pamela.gomez@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4520

Dominica Rivera-Dominguez
Educational Advisor
Child Development, Early Childhood Education, Elementary Teacher Education,
Criminal Justice, Digital Arts, Commercial Music, Auto, Industrial Drawing,
Fire Technology, EMT/Paramedic

domriver@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4316
Name Email Phone
Lupe Aguirre
Job Development Specialist
lupe.aguirre@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4829
Beth Marie Harrison
Job Development Specialist
marie.harrison@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4828
Vikki Coffee
Job Development Specialist
vcoffee@kccd.edu 661-395-4829
Name Email Phone
Yoli Aguilera
Department Assistant III, Dual Enrollment
yolanda.aguilera@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4013

Cindi Swoboda
Department Assistant III, CTE

cswoboda@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4089

Jennifer Caughron
Temp Department Assistant III, Student Employment

jcaughro@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4550

If you are interested in getting involved and would like more information or would like to speak to the Department Chair please fill out this form by Requesting More Information

Kern Community College District