Bakersfield College

students in BC's Career and Technical Education program

Career & Technical Education

What is Career and Technical Education?

Career and Technical Education prepares students for a wide range of high-wage, high skill, high-demand careers. CTE is at the forefront of preparing students to succeed in fast-growing, high-growth industries around the country. According to the California Community Colleges Task Force on Workforce Job Creation and a Strong Economy, the labor market is increasingly demanding a more skilled workforce and by 2020 65% of all job openings in the U.S. will require some postsecondary education or training - though not necessarily a four year degree.

It is our mission to provide educational leadership in developing a competitive workforce. For more information on the different Career and Technical Education programs that Bakersfield College has to offer visit the Career Pathways webpage.

CTE Staff

Program Managers
Name Position Email Phone Location
Yoli Aguilera Department Assistant, Dual Enrollment yolanda.aguilera@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4013
FACE 16
Stephanie Baltazar Student Employment Program Manager stephanie.baltazar@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4091
FACE 16
Anna Laven Program Manager, Dual Enrollment anna.laven@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4830
FACE 16
Raquel Lopez Program Manager, Career Ag Pathways rlopez@bakersfieldcollege.edu
DST 114
Job Development Specialist
Name Position Email Phone Location
Victoria Coffee Job Development Specialist vcoffee@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4452
Beth Marie Harrison Job Development Specialist marie.harrison@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4828
MS 1
Jessica McGrath Job Development Specialist jessica.mcgrath@bakersfieldcollege.edu
Educational Advisors
Name Position Email Phone Location
Pamela Gomez Educational Advisor, Career & Technical Education (CTE) pamela.gomez@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4520
FACE 16
Dominica Rivera-Dominguez Educational Advisor, Career & Technical Education (CTE) domriver@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4316
FACE 16
Venessa Reyes Educational Advisor, Allied Health venessa.reyes@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4476
MS 178
Administration
Name Position Email Phone Location
Cornelio Rodriguez Dean of Instruction crodrigu@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4597
FACE 16
Anthony Cordova Program Director anthony.cordova@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4787
FACE 16
Rachael Prieto Department Assistant III, Student Employment rachael.prieto@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4550
FACE 16
Cindi Swoboda Department Assistant III, Career and Technical Education cswoboda@bakersfieldcollege.edu (661) 395-4089
FACE 16
Kern Community College District