Bakersfield College

students in BC's Career and Technical Education program

Career & Technical Education

Temporary Office Location

The Career & Technical Education and Dual Enrollment Office (FACE 16) will be closed for remodel beginning July 11th through July 31st. During construction our office will be temporarily relocated to the typing area in the Library computer commons.

What is Career and Technical Education?

Career and Technical Education prepares students for a wide range of high-wage, high skill, high-demand careers. CTE is at the forefront of preparing students to succeed in fast-growing, high-growth industries around the country. According to the California Community Colleges Task Force on Workforce Job Creation and a Strong Economy, the labor market is increasingly demanding a more skilled workforce and by 2020 65% of all job openings in the U.S. will require some postsecondary education or training - though not necessarily a four year degree.

It is our mission to provide educational leadership in developing a competitive workforce. For more information on the different Career and Technical Education programs that Bakersfield College has to offer visit the Career Pathways webpage.

 

Social Media

FOLLOW US on social media and always know what is going on in Career and Technical Education at Bakersfield College! Keep an eye out for special events and updated information.

Like us on Facebook: BakersfieldCollegeCTE

Follow us on Instagram: BakersfieldCollegeCTE

Follow us on Twitter: CTEatBC

 

Contact

Name Email Phone
Cindy Collier
Dean of Instruction-CTE
ccollier@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4283
Vacant
CTE Program Manager
   
Anna Laven
Dual Enrollment Program Manager
anna.laven@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4830

Educational Advisors

   

Antonio Alfaro
Educational Advisor
Ag Mechanics, IT Networking, Business, Construction/Woodworking
Electronics, Industrial Automation, Engineering Technology, Welding
Manufacturing Technology

analfaro@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4023
Dinorah Castro
Educational Advisor (located in MS 178)
Pre-Nursing, Registered Nursing, Vocational Nurse, Nurse Assistant,
Rad Tech, Public Health Sciences, Health Information Techology
dicastro@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4476

Pamela Gomez
Educational Advisor
Agriculture Business, Ag Mechanics, Animal Science,
Animal Science, Crop Science, Environmental Hort, Vet. Tech. Forestry
Plant Science, Culinary Arts, Human Services

pamela.gomez@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4520

Dominica Rivera-Dominguez
Educational Advisor
Child Development, Early Childhood Education, Elementary Teacher Education,
Criminal Justice, Digital Arts, Commercial Music, Auto, Industrial Drawing,
Fire Technology, EMT/Paramedic

domriver@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4316

Job Development Specialists

   
Stephanie Baltazar
Job Development Specialist
stephanie.baltazar@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4091
Beth Marie Harrison
Job Development Specialist
marie.harrison@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4828
Lupe Aguirre
Job Development Specialist
lupe.aguirre@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4829

Support Staff

   

Vacant
Executive Secretary

   
Yoli Aguilera
Department Assistant III, Dual Enrollment
yolanda.aguilera@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4013

Cindi Swoboda
Department Assistant III, CTE

cswoboda@bakersfieldcollege.edu 661-395-4089
Kern Community College District